Recipes // Strawberries

It’s strawberry picking season in Wisconsin!  Most of the time, by the time the strawberries are hulled and rinsed, my husband has plopped down on the couch with a bowl full, sprinkled with sugar, and my toddler has red-stained fingers & cheeks.  I usually don’t get a chance to make too much with them other than a few pints of jam.

Here are a few of my favorite recipes that I’ve used over the years during strawberry season!

[1] Strawberry Lemonade Bars

strawberrylemonadebars-18

This recipe was delicious!  Sweet, tangy, crunchy … delicious!  I love desserts that have some fruit in it for that perfect amount of sweet, but not too unhealthy.

[2] Strawberry Vinaigrette

strawberry-vinaigrette-My-Whole-Food-Life-P

Strawberry Vinaigrette is one of my favorite summer dressings.  It’s sweet and perfect drizzled on a bed of spinach leaves.  Spinach salads are one of my favorites (year round!), but this dressing brings it home.

[3] Mixed Berry Jam

jam-July-1027

I used this recipe last year for the first time.  My stepson came home from his summer program with (no joke) a gallon of blueberries.  We had to start getting creative to use them up in time before they went bad, so I found this recipe on Pinterest.  Boy, was it delicious! We made a few pints up and stored it for the winter.  It was so sweet and a perfect taste of summer when it was -40 outside!

[4] Strawberry Lemonade Concentrate

photo-2

Ok, I have not tried this recipe … but I think I will!  Lemonade is a staple for summer, and fresh strawberry lemonade sounds heavenly!

[5] Fruit Salsa with Cinnamon Chips

Quick-Easy-Fruit-Salsa-Recipe-with-our-favorite-cinnamon-sugar-@tortillaland-chips-ohsweetbasil.com_-3

Have you tried this one yet?  Oh, please do! My mom introduced us to this for the first time at Christmas a few years ago.  It was so addicting!  It was gone off the table in a flash (ok, I think I was definitely the reason it disappeared so quickly!) because it was that good.

photo source: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5]

Leave a Reply

