Wednesday Word // John 10:10

John 10:10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly. (ESV)

 

It seems like I forget about this verse all too quickly – or don’t understand it well in my life.  As Christians, we know that there is a spiritual war waging at all times.  I seemed to forget that it is still waging against me as well.  Prior to my quiet time last night, I always skimmed over this verse.  I have it memorized, but I seemed to just skip it over thinking “I’m already a Christian – the devil can’t do anything to me!”  Obviously, that’s a true statement.  I am Christ’s and He is mine – my name is in the Book of Life – hallelujah!  The devil has no power or authority over that.  He cannot kill or destroy me.

But what about steal me?  He cannot steal me from Heaven, but can he steal me in the day to day?  Lately, I’ve realized he’s stolen me away in my thoughts of coveting.  See, I have this neighbor who is constantly buying new clothes, decorations for her home, making lovely, homemade dinners from scratch, and checking off her Pinterest boards one by one – things, all in all, I don’t have time or money for.  My heart has been set on “keeping up” lately.  And the deeper and deeper I go in coveting others’ possessions, the further away my heart seems to be from the Lord’s heart.  And can I mention the joy gets sucked right out of you!  Obviously, possessions will not fill any happiness gaps in your soul like the love of Jesus will.

Don’t let jealousy steal your joy and contentment today.  I love that the Word doesn’t just warn you about the evil one’s schemes, but tells you how to overcome them!  The second half of John 10:10 is such a breath of fresh air.  “I have come that they may have life and have it abundantly.” *sigh* I could just sink down in Jesus’ arms … Focus on Him and he will give you abundant life – joyful, fulfilling, abundant life.

Be blessed.  Be a blessing.

10394637_420451654798952_6991479890790789954_n

Leave a Reply

